Good News Tucson Magazine's Blog

The Premiere Christian Magazine for Southern Arizona

What Does it Mean to Have Faith?

What Does it Mean to Have Faith?

Faith means a lot of things to a lot of people.  We use the term in a variety of ways, for example; good faith estimate, full faith and credit, leap of faith and defending the faith. We can place our faith in ourselves, other people, an organization, a government or a belief system. Faith, from a Biblical point of view, is a confident belief that God exists as described in the Bible and that He loves us and has a divine plan for human destiny.

God loves us and wants to have a real, vital, personal relationship with each of us. We want to use the acronym F.A.I.T.H. as a simple way to understand how to start a relationship with God.

F stands for FORGIVENESS.  We cannot enjoy the benefits of a personal relationship with God without His forgiveness.
In Jesus, we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of sins, according to the riches of His grace. Ephesians 1:7

A stands for AVAILABLE.  Forgiveness is available to every human being in the world – no exceptions.
For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life. John 3:16

But forgiveness from God is not automatic.

The Bible says, Not everyone who says to Me, “Lord, Lord,” shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven. Matthew 7:21

I stands for IMPOSSIBLE.  It is impossible for a sinless God to allow sin into heaven.

God is love, but he is also just.  And His judgment is without mercy to the one who has shown no mercy. James 2:13.

Man is sinful.  The Bible says, All have sinned and fall short of the glory of God. Romans 3:23

So how can God allow a sinful person in to heaven where God allows no sin?

T stands for TURN.
If you did not know any better and were living your life contrary to God’s ways and someone said to you, “God loves you and wants you to follow Him,” what would you say?

Sin is living life my own way rather than God’s way. Repentance means to acknowledge my sin and to decide to follow God.
But unless you repent you will all likewise perish. Luke 3:5

The Bible goes on to say, If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. I John 1:9

H is for HEAVEN
We are made for eternity – your spirit will live forever.  Most people expect to go to heaven when they die, but heaven will be a place to worship and serve God forever and ever. Does it make any sense to want to go to heaven where we will spend forever with the God that we didn’t want to know while we were alive?

Living our lives God’s way while on earth is the secret to true joy and peace.  Jesus said, I have come that you may have life and that you may have it more abundantly. John 10:10

When we decide to follow God’s call to follow Him, heaven will be our final home. Jesus said,
In my Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go and prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also. John 14:2-3

PRAYER OF FAITH
This simple prayer may help you express your heart to God. Why not choose to follow Jesus today?

Dear Jesus, thank you for loving me. I realize that by not living for you I have sinned. Please forgive me. Today, I commit my life to you. I want to follow your ways and I want to grow spiritually. Help me to find a church where I can make a difference and use my abilities to help others. I want to spend eternity with you. Thank you for answering this prayer.  AMEN

May 5, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

