Good News Tucson Magazine's Blog

The Premiere Christian Magazine for Southern Arizona

What Abortion Took, God Restored

What Abortion Took, God Restored

By Lori Navrodtzke, Assistant Director Woman’s Pregnancy Center

Abortion.

Do you think this is a private issue only to be discussed between a woman and her doctor rather than being discussed in a magazine? Do you believe it is a political issue settled back in 1973 with the Roe vs. Wade Supreme Court decision? Is it a religious issue and therefore a matter of opinion based on one’s personal spiritual beliefs? Does the subject make you angry or uncomfortable?

Before you continue reading I ask that you try to put aside your own personal beliefs and biases about the subject of abortion. Rather than addressing this issue from the perspective of privacy, politics or religion I invite you to look at it from a personal perspective, through the eyes of someone who has made this decision and has lived with it for the past 26 years.

I grew up in a Christian home and going to church was always a part of my life. I was always active in church and school activities, my parents were very involved in my life and I had what I would consider normal teenage insecurities. When I was seventeen, the 26 year old, married youth pastor at my church took advantage of me. As a result I became pregnant. When I told him he immediately suggested abortion. This was an issue I don’t remember being discussed at home or church but somewhere inside myself I believed it was wrong. Initially I said I couldn’t do it but eventually he threatened to kill himself if I continued the pregnancy. No one knew about this and I felt completely alone, so I gave in even though it wasn’t what I wanted. On February 24, 1984 I aborted my 10 week old baby. About halfway through the procedure I saw a canister behind the doctor begin to fill up and at that point I knew I was making the biggest mistake of my life but it was too late to stop. I left that clinic forever changed.

Over the course of the next 20 years my life went into a downward spiral. I graduated from college and got married, which on the outside made it look like everything was fine. But at the same time I was also sinking further into depression, completely walking away from God and the church and began binging on food and abusing alcohol. I was becoming a very angry and unhappy person. In 2004 things in my marriage blew apart and because of the guilt and shame I had been carrying around for so many years I was sure this was what I deserved. I was convinced I didn’t deserve to be happy and the prospect of continuing on in my miserable life was too much. On a Monday evening in September 2004 I seriously considered killing myself, but instead made a decision that night to fully give my life over to God. I spent a long time after that working with a Christian counselor trying to make sense out of the mess my life had become. Moving through a grieving process and acknowledging the life that was lost at that abortion clinic was the most difficult and painful thing I have ever experienced, but it has also truly been a gift from God to be able to accept my child back into my life.

If reading this has stirred up some difficult emotions in you, please know you are not alone. Many women who experience abortion go on to experience feelings of loss and grief, but sometimes not until years later. If this is you, I would encourage you to acknowledge these feelings and began the process of healing. God desires to heal you just as he has me and there is help available. If you or someone you know has had an abortion and you would like to speak with someone confidentially please call the Women’s Pregnancy Centers of Tucson at 622-5774 for post-abortion support and counseling options in the area.

July 4, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

